spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

akshayj

join:2013-06-30

USG Vs Cisco Router

I have one question regarding the performance of UTMs(like cyberoam) /USGs (ZyWall300).

I recently visted one college having a very basic network. The primary intension is just to provide internet access to students.

They have around 500 PCs while at anytime the maximum number of concurrent uers is less than 300.

They have ZyWall300 connected to 8Mbps leased line internet connection. The admins told me that students complain that internet just gets slow when number of users becomes more than 100.

I am not very experienced (just a CCNA recently) and I have been asked to find why it gets very slow.

I checked the specification of ZyWall300 and found that this appliance does everything a Cisco router would do, but it also does lot of other things too(AntiVirus/intrusion detection etc etc etc).

So I was wondering:
(1) Why would anyone buy a plain router and not buy this fancy device.
(2) I guess this machine has too many features that makes it slow. So, can I have one Cisco router connected to the internet (to do the job of routing etc) and have that ZyWall sit behind and do other stuff. Will that make things fast ?

mozerd
Light Will Pierce The Darkness
Premium,MVM
join:2004-04-23
Nepean, ON
Based on my experience with the USG300

With all UTM services running the USG can support 75 users.

I have no experience using the USG with 300 concurrent users so I can only speculate that for that many users with ALL UTM services active the USG would choke but with ALL UTM services disabled it should be able to handle the load.

for a 500 user campus and all UTM services active I would have suggested the USG1000.

[1] The USG300 is not a fancy device -- it is a good quality device that has value when used properly.