All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
nexuz1647
join:2013-07-13

nexuz1647

QoS for gaming

I hope this is the right place to ask this, I'm pretty new to forums.

I would like to optimize my QoS for gaming, I often get ping spikes and jitter when someone else on my networks just opens up a browser or stream a youtube clip. My internet download speed is about 250 kilobyte per second which as far as I know should be enough for both gaming and streaming clips, surfing the web, etc.

I have a Netgear WNR2000v3 router. I'm not very experienced at any of this so if you intend to give me a helping hand please be thorough and don't assume that I know very much.

Best regards

Krisnatharok
PC Builder, Gamer
Premium Member
join:2009-02-11
Earth Orbit

Krisnatharok

Premium Member

said by nexuz1647:

My internet download speed is about 250 kilobyte per second which as far as I know should be enough for both gaming and streaming clips, surfing the web, etc.

lol nope. not nearly close

Moos
Tequilablob
Premium Member
join:2008-12-11
Salt Lake City, UT

Moos to nexuz1647

Premium Member

to nexuz1647
250 KBps is roughly 2MBps which is fine for gaming by itself. Krisn is correct, your pushing your luck trying to stream and game at the same time with that speed. QOS will allow you too prioritize your internet traffic, but you simply do not have enough bandwidth for simultaneously gaming and streaming without having some issues.
nexuz1647

nexuz1647

Okay, but I would be able to prioritize the game application so that I wouldn't get high ping when someone tries to stream?
tdumaine
Premium Member
join:2004-03-14
Seattle, WA

tdumaine

Premium Member

said by nexuz1647:

Okay, but I would be able to prioritize the game application so that I wouldn't get high ping when someone tries to stream?

If you have a router that supports QoS functions yes, no idea if yours does or not
nexuz1647

nexuz1647