All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
potato6
join:2012-12-13

potato6

Over a year and no resolution in 36460

I've been using Mediacom Internet service for about 6 years. Last June (2012) I started getting frequent modem reboots and had a lot of problems with latency and packet loss. Over the next few months I had numerous tech visits, replaced the line from the pole to the house, and I'm on my 5th modem since June 2012 - 3 of my own (2 brand new), and 2 of Mediacom's rentals. Pretty safe to say the problem was never the modem(s).

Earlier this year (2013) it seemed like they finally had the problem solved. This was short-lived, unfortunately, and after 6 weeks of "OK" service (fewer problems), the bigger problems started back up again.

The modem reboots after "T4 timeouts", I constantly have packet loss, and speeds are all over the place. The problems get worse late in the afternoon and evenings.

My local tech ops supervisor really is a nice guy. I've spoken with him over the phone several times. He's even been out to the house to "assure" us that the problem is being worked on. But this has been going on way too long. It's ridiculous. At this point I have no doubt the problems will not be resolved. I don't think my "local team" is capable. There is no competition in my area yet, so dropping Mediacom isn't an option as long as I live in this little town ... I am not willing to take a loss on this house in this poor economy.

I don't understand why "experts" from another area haven't been called in to fix the issues. I know its not just my location (though I am sure I complain more than anyone else). My business runs entirely over the internet. Almost all of our entertainment comes from the internet (Netflix, gaming, etc). My personal and business phone lines operate over the internet.