Search similar:

uniqs
dougz
join:2005-10-28
Mechanicsville, VA

2 edits

dougz

Solved -- VPN Blocking?

I'm a total noob at VPN. Searched this site and others without finding much help.

To get started, I got a free account at proxpn.com, partially due to Steve Gibson's (grc.com) recommendations. Tried using the login at a public library and found that proxpn.com site access was blocked by their sonicwall's rules, claiming it was due to hacking or tunneling potential.

How common is VPN blocking? Not sure if it is worth paying for VPN services if it will be hard to find hotspots that allow login.
dougz

dougz

Re: VPN Blocking?

I did some more research. It would appear that some sites really lock down their nets against VPN.

If I understand correctly, it would appear that VPNs which support SSL/SSTP can sneak through those sorts of firewalls.

Here's a relatively simple explanation (source -- »www.intl-alliance.com/st ··· alth-vpn)
Secure Socket Tunneling Protocol (SSTP) is a form of VPN tunnel that provides a mechanism to transport PPP or L2TP traffic through an SSL 3.0 channel. SSL provides transport-level security with key-negotiation, encryption and traffic integrity checking. The use of SSL over TCP port 443 allows SSTP to pass through virtually all firewalls and routers and cannot be blocked.

SSTP servers must be authenticated during the SSL phase. SSTP clients are authenticated during the SSL phase, and must be authenticated in the PPP phase. The use of PPP allows support for common authentication methods, such as EAP-TLS and MS-CHAP.

SSTP is available in Windows Vista Service Pack 1 and Windows 7 operating systems only. It is fully integrated with the RRAS architecture in these operating systems.

With regards to the SSTP Super Stealth VPN Technology, here is what happens when you initialize this type of connection:

1.) TCP connection is established from client to server (by default on port 443).