how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

chgo_man99

join:2010-01-01
San Jose, CA

1 edit

Finding technical job in Silicon Valley from Chicago - how?

I am recent graduate with Bachelor in IT from good college in Chicago with 2 years of after-graduate work experience and two internships. I have CCNA I have to renew due this October for CCNA SP or CCNP. When I graduated in 2010, I was looking for employment in entry-level network support-engineering through job boards online and my college career center with not much luck. Eventually I found entry-level basic tech support job with IBM in Iowa. Basically I remotely rebooted systems, troubleshoot server applications, worked on incident tickets, occasional small projects like helping vendors encrypt data on some servers by acting as proxy to deploy s/w agents. Eventually I found job with Allstate in Northbrook and moved back, for little higher level 2 position in NOC that involved basically less/more the same role and also doing servers only, far from troubleshooting network or anything other than troubleshooting physical/virtual Windows servers. After working there whole year, I recently lost my job and I am back looking for a job full-time again.

I was thinking about applying to Silicon Valley but how many employers there hire out of state applicants with limited experience when they most likely have plenty local? One time I had pre-sceening interview with Sophos in Santa Clara, but as soon as they learned I am still physically in IL they backed out even though I assured them I would travel and relocate on my own expense.

With kind of work experienced I described how can I best apply myself? In addition I did 2 internships while in school which were few months, one with JP Morgan chase as Business Systems Analyst.

If it helps I am bilingual and speak Polish but unless my language is in demand somewhere, it won't help.