how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Alphatel

join:2013-08-02

Suggestions for Caribbean WISP

Hey guys,

I'm new to the forum and I'm pursuing the idea of starting a WISP in the Caribbean. The island I'm looking to deploy is very small...about the size of a quarter i.e. 5sq miles. The topography is very challenging with elevation changing by 100m in less than 0.5km and very heavy vegetation. We're basically the top of a dormant volcano rising to over 800m from sea level. There's no active fiber optic connections (a submarine cable has been laid to the island). So all communications are via microwave radio to nearby islands some 30-40 miles away. All frequencies are regulated and licensed. Having said that I still want to start a WISP and I've been working on a business plan. I'm not technically inclined but can handle the business end. My key issues are cost of bandwidth. The cheapest offshore quote I've gotten thus far is USD$500/Mbps and that's including back hauling it to my island (about 30 miles over Caribbean sea), licensing fees, infrastructure, etc. I'm going to need to hire a techie to manage this network while I handle the business end of it. Population is about 2,000 people and we have a monopoly telephone company offering ADSL.

Do any of you guys have any experience in situations such as these? At this point I'm considering satellite but I know the pricing can be ridiculous. I'm considering offering 2 service plans, 2Megs/256kbp s and 4Meg/512kbps but I'm having some difficulty determining the correct size pipe. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Inssomniak
The Glitch
Premium
join:2005-04-06
Cayuga, ON
kudos:2

5 hundred dollars per megabit?
And you want to offer 4 meg plans?
Heavy vegetation?
Hilly terrain?
You want to hire someone out of the gate?

Sounds like suicide.
Wire the island with fibre probably easier.
--
OptionsDSL Wireless Internet
»www.optionsdsl.ca

lutful
... of ideas
Premium
join:2005-06-16
Ottawa, ON