spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Stephanie

join:2013-08-27

[DSL] New to TekSavvy - Trying to get /28 static IPs working

I'm brand new to TekSavvy. They have connected me with a 50/10 DSL service, a Sagemcom modem/router, and I have "1 static plus 14 static IP addresses".

The guy who did the installation did not know anything about the IPs and as soon as the lights came on on the modem his job was done.

The modem is online and active and the '1 static IP' shows on the internet connection. As near as I can tell though there is no way to turn off NAT and the LAN ports on the modem are all locked into a 192.168.n.n scheme.

They told me the block of IP addresses that I have for my /28 block, but if I configure my equipment using those addresses, they have no connection to the internet. No surprise because the Sagemcom appears to be locked to the 192.168.n.n NAT setup.

I've been browing the forums here and it seems like there's a lot more knowledge here than at Teksavvy.

I am getting the feeling I need more equipment, or different equipment. If the Sagemcom is not able to do the job, should I return it to TekSavvy?

Can someone please explain what I need to do to get my static IPs active and online?

Thank you!

Limahaurix

join:2013-06-20
If you go to the Network page underneath Settings in the Sagemcom, in the DHCP section it should let you change the Router IP Address (set it to the default gateway of your subnet, should be the subnet address +1 ex if your subnet is 69.12.14.64/28 then you would use 69.12.14.65) and then you would set the DHCP start to the next address and end to the second-last address (in this example DHCP start would be .66 and DHCP end would be 78).

Give that a try and let me know how it works out.

Stephanie

Thanks for the response!