Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

oiadd8

join:2009-10-22
Richardson, TX

1 recommendation

Why Verizon is Giving the 2 button remotes for TV Service

I'm a tech. I can explain in laymans terms why we "dummied" down the remote for public use. First off I need to say that any "Universal" remote isn't truely universal. There are and will always be TVs, Generic or otherwise, that will not work with the remote. We went from a 4 button remote to a 2 button remote because we were constantly getting calls on programming a remote to equipment we don't even support: DVDs, VCRs, Stereo Systems, etc. Verizon offers a good service but we can't be accountable for 3rd party equipment because it detracts from giving support to people that actually need help with the Verizon equipment. Benefits of P265 remote are: 1) easier to use since there are just 2 device buttons (TV and STB), 2) coding to TV is way easier than old remotes. If you want a 4 button remote, you can still purchase it from the fios accessories store: »www.verizon.com/fiosaccessories ...thanks, just trying to be helpful

chitchatjf

join:2008-07-13
Lawrence, MA

1 recommendation

I LIKE the two button remote.

PJL

join:2008-07-24
Long Beach, CA
kudos:2

1 recommendation

reply to oiadd8

Your post makes perfect sense to me.

jgNJ

join:2008-05-20
Hightstown, NJ

2 recommendations

reply to oiadd8

I really object to paying extra for a 4 button remote. If you need a remote that pleases those who can't program it that's fine but don't charge people who want a 4 button remote extra.

rpjoe
Premium
join:2007-09-22
Rochelle Park, NJ
reply to oiadd8

i miss is the the tv function button. it was convenient changing some tv settings with the fios remote. not THAT big of a deal, i know.
--
~ FiOS ~ * UltimateHD * QIP7232-2 * 35/35rev.G * iPhone 5 64GB W *

Strommy

join:2010-04-23
King Of Prussia, PA

1 recommendation

reply to oiadd8

said by oiadd8: