Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

ayryq

join:2013-09-01
Buchanan, MI

Help understanding Zywall USG bandwidth management

Hi,
I'm an amateur trying to figure out the BWM on my ZyXEL ZyWall USG 50. There's some things that confuse me, and some things I'm not quite sure how to do. Sorry this is long. I posted at smallnetbuilder about a week ago and had no replies; maybe I'll have more luck here.

My first question is regarding the difference between "inbound" and "outbound" as regards to BWM. I've read the help document a dozen times and I'm still not sure I have it straight in my head. Here's an example of something I want to do:

I have an IP cam that will totally saturate my DSL upload bandwidth if someone off-network views it. I want to limit that bandwidth so browsing doesn't suddenly become impossible. It's got a port open in the firewall, which is forwarded via NAT to a different port on the camera.
When someone (say, my brother) opens the rstp stream from the camera, who is "incoming"? My brother initiated the whole shebang by requesting the rstp stream. He is the "connection initiator," meaning the stream from my camera on LAN1 to my brother out on WAN1 is actually "inbound traffic" right? Seems backwards but that's how it reads in the manual, I think. So I need to limit a stream with SOURCE: WAN1 and DESTINATION: CAMERA on either the "outside" port or the "inside" port since they're different.

Can anyone make sense of the scenario above, in small words for a noob?