spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Dolph_USMC

join:2002-11-18
Austin, TX

Connectivity Issues, Are SB6120 Noise Levels in Range?

Hi All,
My parents have had connectivity and slow speed issues for over a year now. A tech had come out awhile back and told my parents that they had line issues, and that he'd have to dispatch another tech out to do some line replacement and troubleshooting (since most ISPs lease their lines); however, a tech never came out to replace lines, etc. I'm a Network Engineer, and know that replacing a modem won't generally resolve anything with line noise issues; however I HATE leased modems (theirs was an Arris), so I've recently installed, and configured, a new Motorola Surfboard (SB6120) to replace the Arris modem. Since I'm not real familiar with this modem; I've decided to post my log files, and SB6120 config screenshots, to see if my noise and power levels are in range, and that my config info looks correct. I did notice my total correctable code words are less than my uncorrectable, which I know can cause issues.
I'd appreciate any info y'all can give me in regards to this.

-Thanks
--
Sr. Network Admin & Systems Security Analyst

moldypickle

join:2009-01-04
Haughton, LA
kudos:2

Would probably help if you included the screenshot with your post?

Expand your moderator at work

TurboNerd

join:2013-02-22
Clovis, NM
Reviews:
·Suddenlink
reply to Dolph_USMC

Re: Connectivity Issues, Are SB6120 Noise Levels in Range?

Screenshot or at least a post on those levels will help us help you.

Although I am putting money on your cabling. Wont say for sure

Line noise wow haven't heard that in a cable modem forum. For cable systems I believe it's ingress/egress (noise leaking in-interfering/leaking out/weaker)

egress caused latency issues in our drop that the cable modem recovers quickly enough but MTA failed so had ongoing phone issues and tech calls for YEARS.