pende_tim
Premium
join:2004-01-04
Andover, NJ
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Comcast

[General] Gas Stove on Propane

My Daughter just moved into a place with a propane 4 burner/oven range. This is the first time she has cooked with gas and as of now does not like it one bit. I have no real experience with gas either so I am not much help to her.

The biggest complaint is that the stove seems "too hot". The handles on the pots and pans need hotpads to make them so they can be moved, things cook really fast and water in a pot will boil when the burner is on low heat.

Since this is a propane stove and I believe propane burns hotter than Natural Gas, is it possible that the stove was not setup for propane?

Would it be really really obvious if the proper conversion was not done? What would the symptoms be is it were still setup on NG?

The range is probably 4 years old.

Tim
--
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits.

mityfowl
Premium
join:2000-11-06
Dallas, TX
I doubt that that range is set up for NG.

The orifices have to be "tuned" to either NG or propane or you don't get the blue flame.

Most good to great cooks prefer a gas cooktop and usually and electric oven. There is a learning curve and hopefully she'll learn to love it.

nonymous
Premium
join:2003-09-08
Glendale, AZ
reply to pende_tim
A good stove should go from simmer to hot. So it is either just a bad stove or needs fixed.

NGLPG

@rr.com
This is a typical symptom of a stove that was not converted from NG to propane. The orifices for NG are larger and therefore you end up with a larger, barely adjustable flame on propane. Call your friendly appliance guy.

pike
Premium,MVM
join:2001-02-01
Washington, DC
kudos:3

1 recommendation

reply to pende_tim
NGLPG is correct.

rfhar
The World Sport, Played In Every Country
Premium
join:2001-03-26
Buicktown,Mi
Reviews:
·Power-Net Intern..
reply to pende_tim