Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

rdsteele

join:2005-02-13
Campbellsburg, KY
reply to rdsteele

Re: [Pricing] 4G LTE Billing for usage seems high

Nacraman, I have several customers that have switched from other broadband services that are complaining of the same problem. Their usage of the system in their small home based business is the same but their reported GB usage is at least double their usage on their older connection systems. It strikes me as quite odd that no one else has noticed this billing discrepancy. Also, I am getting complaints from iPhone users about having to turn everything off to not exceed their 2GB allowance within the first 1 to 2 weeks. The usage reporting and billing system seems to erroneously count GB usage.

criggs

join:2000-07-14
New York, NY
Reviews:
·Millenicom

Or it could be what I've been maintaining for several months, that the complexity, graphics richness and embedded multimedia features of modern web sites have exploded exponentially, leading to far higher amounts of data being downloaded on an everyday basis by normal usage than used to be the case, a change that is "invisible" to most users if they haven't changed their normal surfing habits. I certainly saw such an increase in my monthly usage over the past year, even though I really had not changed my Internet habits that much.

A very good example is Youtube, where clips are now routinely posted that run at a variety of HD speeds. In fact, in addition to the two that have become standard, 720 and 1080, I even saw a clip the other day with a 4k option. It wouldn't surprise me if an in-depth analysis were to demonstrate that Youtube is a significant factor leading to increased average monthly usage.

patt2k

join:2009-01-16
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Verizon FiOS
reply to rdsteele

said by rdsteele: