spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

trumpet

@sbcglobal.net

[West] Should I ditch ATT DSL?

I have been using ATT DSL for 3 years now I believe. I have been tolerant with it, even after price increased from $35 to $48, because of stable internet.

Just few days ago I received my first warning on 150 GB bandwidth cap. I have known about this bandwidth cap before but I assumed I stayed under it each billing cycle. This warning made me rethink whether ATT DSL is a good investment or not.

I don't have U-verse available in my region, and the only viable alternative would be Comcast. I estimated it would cost me extra $15 should I switched to Comcast while staying under the same speed (6 Mbps). There is also the option of just pay the over usage fee as it comes along.

Thoughts?

cramer
Premium
join:2007-04-10
Raleigh, NC
kudos:9
Switch. Now! Go. What are you still doing here!

Keep in mind, there's no going back. If you turn off that DSL connection, there's a near 100% chance you'll not be able to get it back. It's unlikely you'll ever want to go back, but fair warning.

Comcast will be (in general) faster, more stable, and no cap (or at least no overages.) [look around. I recall talk of an unwritten 250GB line-in-the-sand.]

NormanS
I gave her time to steal my mind away
Premium,MVM
join:2001-02-14
San Jose, CA
kudos:12
Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
·Pacific Bell - SBC
reply to trumpet
Are you possibly served by Sonic.net Fusion? The down side, if it is available to you is that you must get it bundled with voice service. The up side is that you will pay half as much as AT&T charges.
--
Norman
~Oh Lord, why have you come
~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum

trumpet

@sbcglobal.net
@cramer:
One reason I looked at Comcast is because of 250 GB bandwidth cap. Is it enforced at this moment?

@NormanS:
Nope, Sonic.net Fusion is not available for me either.

TO ALL: