spc

spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

PowerOfIT

@comcast.net

[Other] Fast Hub Network? How can this be?

Ok, I'm not beginner when it comes to networking but not an expert either. I understand the fundamental differences between hubs and switches, but this one has got my perplexed. When I was at college years ago (~9 years ago) our college had a class B network (147.16.x.x) if I remember correctly. Before I graduated they upgraded the entire system to cisco equipment with high speed fiber rings and gig capability. However the reason I ask this question is before that was put it, they had the most Interesting setup which I still don't understand to this very day how it worked as well as it did.

All the buildings on campus had LOTS of these LINKSYS EF2H16 16 Port 10/100 hubs everywhere. The dorm I was in had 10 for all the floors and half of them were daisychained together via UTP patch cables with the top most one connected to a fiber converter (canary boxes they called them) which would then go to this one building on campus and in the basement was a Cisco 24 or 48 port fiber switch if I remember correctly. I was told by someone on site that they only had one big switch on the entire campus and the rest of it was hubs. I never entirely understood their ISP connection, I know it was optical but I don't remember if it was OC3 or something else (they kept that a secret for some reason after I asked). On top of that, I worked for IT Student Desktop Support at one point and the big room we were in was in the basement of this one building and in the room we had as many as 7 hubs daisy chained together using UTP cable between each of them. The uplink ran up to some Pipes that ran along the ceiling into another room. Before the cable went into the next room, there were two Linksys 5 port hubs dangling from the pipes and I was told we were connected to the one and the other was another subnet.