spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

yeedle

join:2013-10-18

[Electrical] Question regarding neutral wires in a light switch box

I am a beginner when it comes to wiring but trying to learn as much as I can, so thanks in advance to everyone that helps. I just moved into an old apartment and here is the situation:

-I have 3 light switches all together in one box by the front door.
-There are two neutral wires running into the box from the top and the bottom connected together using a large wire nut.
- I would like to add a timer (with a neutral wire) which would increase the wire nut to hold 5 wires. I am not sure if they are 14 or 12 gauge as there is no marking on the wire that I can see. I have a wire nut that holds 5 14 gauge wires (Morris Red P6 wire nut)

My questions is:
Can I just connect all 5 wires using the wire nut OR can I just connect two neutrals together (one from the top and one from the bottom) and 3 neutrals together (one form the top, one from the bottom and one from the timer) and not have them all connect together?

Which option is better (and a "why" would be very helpful)

nunya
LXI 483
Premium,MVM
join:2000-12-23
O Fallon, MO
kudos:12
Reviews:
·Charter
·voip.ms
Old building and light switches... Some of those "neutrals" may not really be neutral. They were separated (or tied together, it's hard to tell from your description) for a reason.
There may be more than one circuit in a 3G box. You need to verify. You can't just pick out "a" neutral willy-nilly and use it.
--
If someone refers to herself / himself as a "guru", they probably aren't.

yeedle