Search similar:

uniqs

SethC
@comcast.net

SethC

Anon

Looking into ham (a few questions)

Hello my name is Seth,
I am a photographer, my wife and I are about to buy an RV and lots of off the grid "camping". My father lives in MO, mother in AZ, and brother is about to buy a boat and be sailing the seven seas . I'm trying to figure out to best way for us all to keep communication.

I have been interested is ham since I was a kid but never got the opportunity to get involved.

My questions are.

Can my family find a choose a "dedicated" channel for say a weekly call in (Like a club)? I know others might be on it sometimes. I do have some knowledge of ham and how it works.

Would we be able to connect 100% of the time?

Could my mother and father have base stations at their homes and my bother and I have mobile or hand held with us (in case of emergency?

Any comments and help would be greatly appreciated. I will check back often to see if I get any replies

Thank you,
Seth
tobicat
Premium Member
join:2005-04-18
Tombstone, AZ

1 recommendation

tobicat

Premium Member

Amateur radio does not use channels except for some very special cases. You can pick a frequency but may have to move up or down to find a clear spot.

Connecting 100% is probably not possible. There is a little thing called propagation. Whole books have been written on this. Where you can talk depends on frequency, time of day, sun spots, season.

All family members will require at least a general class license. They can't use yours.

Az to Mo is certainly doable most of the time if you use the correct frequency. Most likely 20 meters. Talking to a boat/RV at the same time depends on where it is.

You would need base stations with fairly good antennas. Hand helds won't do it. Mobiles might depending on the antenna and how much power you have. A good mobile in an RV or boat with good antenna should be able to cover most of the USA again depending on frequency and time of day (propagation).