Search similar:

uniqs

anonymous2u
@centurytel.net

anonymous2u

Anon

[hard drive] New Hard Drive SSD? & Software Upgrade

Computer newbie here in need of help.

Bought my grand kids two refurbished Dell Optiplex 755, Intel Core 2Duo cpu E8200, @ 2.66 ghz, 32 bit computers, e/w 4gb ram & Vista Business os ( with recovery disks ) several years ago. Internal test now indicates one Optiplex has a dead hard drive.

Thinking about buying SSD with a Windows 7 upgrade license & installing it in the Vista computer.

Having read the Win 7 Questions @

»answers.microsoft.com/en ··· llation-

questions/6719ae72-7187-45cd-80f7-55e66f3ec686

am still not certain that I understand correctly.

I realize that the Vista os must be installed first on the new hard drive & then the Win. 7 os is installed.

Must I format the hard drive prior to installing the Vista recovery disk?

If so, how is formatting done? Is it from a good working computer's USB port or will the dead Optiplex recognize the new drive & allow it to be reformatted within?

Will I have to set up the BIOS prior to or after loading the Win. 7 os?

Or is it merely plug in the Win. 7 disk & pray?

Thanks much,
asdfdfdfdfdf
Premium Member
join:2012-05-09

asdfdfdfdfdf

Premium Member

If you have a recovery disk for that machine then it is intended to return the machine hard drive to the factory state that the machine originally shipped in.

You shouldn't need to do a separate format of the new drive. The recovery disks will typically format and reimage the drive, wiping anything presently on the drive.

Typically, you would change your bios to boot first from the cd/dvd so it loads the recovery disk set and then it will do what it needs to do to reimage the hard drive in the machine to the factory state.
Then, after it informs you that it has completed, you can remove the recovery disk and set the bios back to boot first from the hard drive.