Premium
join:2000-02-24
Not There
kudos:1
Reviews:
·AT&T U-Verse

[Plumbing] Improve Water Pressure

Backstory:
Bought a home that was in foreclosure. Renovated it over the course of 3+ months. The hot water heater was located in the attic and due to its size, I had a new one installed in the garage. Much better location IMHO.

Problem:
The water pressure on the far side of the house is lacking especially when it comes to hot water. The distance is probably 40'-50' to that bathroom from the hot water heater. Water pressure in the master bath is adequate as it's on the same side of the house.

Is there a way for me to increase the water pressure to the guest bathroom? I'm no expert in plumbing so most likely would hire a plumber to resolve. First wanted to know if it's feasible even.
--
I'm actually not funny, I'm just really mean and people think I'm joking.

shdesigns
Powered By Infinite Improbabilty Drive
Premium
join:2000-12-01
Stone Mountain, GA
Reviews:
·EarthLink
·Comcast
·Atlantic Nexus

Sounds like you are talking more about flow than pressure.

Increasing the pressure would increase flow on all faucets. You could have the pressure measured or get a pressure gauge. If there is a pressure regulator, it could be increased a bit.

Otherwise, if they ran 1/2" pipe, increasing to 3/4 might help. I'd also look to see if shower heads or valves are plugged up.
--
Scott Henion

Embedded Systems Consultant,
SHDesigns home - DIY Welder

HotWater

@rr.com

Common occurrence.

As was mentioned you just need a bigger pipe.

Also remember, it will take a noticable amount of time for the hot water to travel the 50'.

hmm

@videotron.ca
reply to Drex

I can't speak for the states, but here where I am older homes had incoming copper pipes at 5/8's And the run from the shut-off (where the water comes into the home from the city) to the hotwater tank was normally the same, 5/8th's.