spc
Search similar:

uniqs

Guysakar
@bhn.net

Guysakar

Anon

Static IP

Hello, I am new to VPN's and not a tech guy. Here is my situation. I travel a lot and need to work when travelling. My work requires a secure network.

2 questions:

If i connect at a public hot spot (coffee shop, etc...) and use a VPN, would that be safe and secure?

2: Just so I don't raise eyebrows about constantly accessing work via different locations all the time, could I get a VPN with a static IP address and have it appear that I am accessing from the same location, as I travel from state to state? Or would doing this slow my speeds down as a travel about the country?

I have used a dynamic VPN before and if I connect to a network that is far away, the speeds are always slow. So say I get a static IP that is in Jacksonville, FL and I travel to California, will my speeds be slower as if I was using a dynamic and connecting to a server far away?

Thanks in advance for any and all help.

eibgrad
join:2010-03-15
united state

1 recommendation

eibgrad

Here's the part I don't get. Using a third party VPN server only provides security from you to the VPN provider. But the VPN provider can still see your traffic, and so could anyone else once they drop it back on the public internet.

So what's the point? The only protection you're getting is LOCAL (i.e., open wifi hotspot). It certainly helps. But most every employer I've ever dealt w/ required you used *their* VPN server so the entire connection, end to end, was secured.

That aside, if all you really need is local wifi security, well heck, you could connect back to your own home network and its VPN server. And then avoid the cost of a third party, could get a static IP from your own ISP, etc.