spc
Search similar:

uniqs

NoSpark
@verizon.net

NoSpark

Anon

Burn Out?

I changed jobs a few weeks ago which has placed me back into IT management. Prior to my current position I was a network admin that also supervised staff, so far I feel that I have a really good team people. I have identified several issues in the environment and developed plans to resolve those issues; I have all everyone I need on board...however after years of implementing some really tough solutions for issues in the past I think I maybe feeling burnt out. Some of the tasks I've delegated while some of the others I need to address but I feel like I don't have the willingness to take on any of the tasks right now, I did take some time off before starting this new job but I'm wondering if it was enough. What do you guys do to rejuvenate yourselves?

tubbynet
reminds me of the danse russe
MVM
join:2008-01-16
Gilbert, AZ

1 recommendation

tubbynet

MVM

drink. heavily. ;-P

seriously though -- you need to figure out what is causing the burn-out. is it the lack of productivity? lack of people listening to your ideas or only paying you lip service? is it the lack of work life balance?

only when you're honest with *why* you're feeling burned out will you be able to get to the bottom of the problem. once you know the problem, then it becomes an easy fix (at least on paper).

q.

workablob
join:2004-06-09
Houston, TX

workablob

Management is its own punishment.

I survive and thrive in IT after 16 years by leaving that job to someone who wants/needs it.

Management is not for me.

Tubby is correct, at least in my case, about drinking.

It keeps me a happy camper.

Mind you, I don't let it get in the way of my productivity.

Your mileage may vary.

Blob
ke4pym
Premium Member
join:2004-07-24
Charlotte, NC

ke4pym to NoSpark

Premium Member

to NoSpark
The good news is you've picked up on the fact that you're burned out.

I didn't for a long time. And it got ugly.