how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

redgrandam

join:2010-08-10
London, ON

[Networking] HT1000 double NAT error on router

Hey guys. I'm sorry if I'm posting in the wrong spot, but this was the best suited spot I think I could find

I'm pretty new to the satellite internet world, but it was the only choice in our new house. I'm in canada, so I'm on Xplornet, and as of a few weeks ago my router started giving a 'double NAT' error. I've had the service for almost a year and this is a new error, and I don't believe I changed anything to cause this.

My setup is simple, just the modem (HT1000), ethernet to my router (Apple Airport Extreme), then other devices connected to the airport.. I've gone through my settings, and although my service is working, it's very slow at times, but I'm not sure it's related.

I can put my router in bridge mode like the error asks me to do, and things still work, but it just messes up all my IP addresses on the network which is a pain.

Router is currently in "DHCP and NAT" mode, other options are "DHCP", or "off (bridge mode)".

Can anyone suggest what is causing this? and confirm what settings I should be using for this modem? Thanks for any help!

dbirdman
Premium,MVM
join:2003-07-07
usa
kudos:5

In general, double-nat is not a problem unless there is an address conflict. An address conflict would typically appear if the router is set to give out addresses in the same range as the modem is giving out, which is 192.168.0.x (x= between 1 and 254).

You can't change the modem's IP range, but you can change the router's IP range if that is the problem. You can set it to anything between 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.254.1

I haven't messed with a system that used an Airport in quite awhile, but I remember them using 10.x.x.x addresses. Those wouldn't be a problem, and wouldn't explain the error. If you find that yours is NOT using 192.168.0.1 tell us and hopefully other trouble-shooting can be done.
--