spc
Search similar:

uniqs

ann_onimous
@shawcable.net

ann_onimous

Anon

DCX 3400 M Firewire problems

I have the DCX 3400 M. I need to get something off of the hard drive to a computer; it is just a little fluff news story so I doubt it there is any major copy protection on it.

I borrowed an iMac running OSX with version 10.6.8 to be exact. It's got a 1.83 Ghz Core 2 Duo and 2G RAM. I am no Mac expert but decided to borrow this because it is supposed to be so much easier with a Mac....not so far.

I dowloaded the Firewire SDK 26, hooked the computer to the DVR, ran the capture program and hit play on the recording. The recording sped up, had no sound, then eventually pixelated and went black. I still ran the recording just in case it actually worked, but it literally recorded nothing, 0 kb. I did try the obvious reboots and reseating of the cable ends.

Has anyone had this happen...and found the fix?
Expand your moderator at work
adiabatic
join:2009-01-24
Victoria, BC

adiabatic to ann_onimous

to ann_onimous

Re: DCX 3400 M Firewire problems

I could never get the FW to work reliably on my DCX3400. I know what I'm doing too as I'd recorded lots of stuff to my PC from a DCT3416. Exactly what you describe... fast video, no sound. Somewhere there was list of a quirky series of steps that some people claimed would work but I couldn't get it to.

Either Motorola or Shaw likely crippled the port. Your best bet is some sort of analog capture.

kevinds
Premium Member
join:2003-05-01
Calgary, AB

kevinds

Premium Member

said by adiabatic:

Either Motorola or Shaw likely crippled the port

From everything I saw, the issue is drivers, the driver for the DCX3400 is different from the DCT3416, and the DCT3416 was a mess, but close

ann_onimous
@shawcable.net

ann_onimous to adiabatic

Anon

to adiabatic