Search similar:

uniqs
mukland
join:2003-09-02
North Brunswick, NJ

mukland

LDAP Authentication

Folks,

My system is a QNAP TS - 469L at work. I have enabled LDAP, and have some users. I have created a landing page for access from the internet. I want to create a login page that authenticates users against the existing LDAP database. Any thoughts on how to go about doing this? I have created some basic codes in html for username and password fields, but I am lost as to how to link the submit button to the LDAP server.

As you can see, I am a newbie to this, and would appreciate any help I can get.

Thanks, and much appreciated.

cowboyro
Premium Member
join:2000-10-11
CT

cowboyro

Premium Member

The authentication would be handled by the backend server. The approach highly depends on what you are running.. php? .net?
mukland
North Brunswick, NJ

mukland

Not sure what you mean by backend server - it is a single NAS box (model QNAP TS 469L) running Linux. All the apps and DB are on this box. I am running php. I have enabled LDAP and have some users on it as well. I have created some basic fields for username and password on the landing page. which is also hosted on the same NAS. I want to authenticate users against their LDAP credentials. I realize I somehow have to link the submit button to this LDAP DB, but do not know how to make this happen.

I am not a programmer, and am trying to learn.

Thanks again.

cowboyro
Premium Member
join:2000-10-11
CT

cowboyro

Premium Member

Sorry to break your enthusiasm, but it's not exactly trivial... it will take some programming skills to make it work properly.
Your php script will have to handle authentication for the page.
You can use an existing library such as pear:net_ldap2 »pear.php.net/manual/en/p ··· dap2.php to handle authentication.

mansplainer
join:2001-11-01
Charleston, SC

mansplainer to mukland

to mukland