uniqs

semotus
Premium Member
join:2003-08-28
Plano, TX

semotus

Premium Member

[Help] Intermittent brake issue with 1997 Chevy Suburban

A few months ago the brake pedal on my '97 5.7L Chevy Suburban started to feel very firm when braking.

I checked the fluid reservoir and it was full. Put the cap back on and got in the truck, brakes were back to normal. The brakes continued to function normally for 2 - 3 weeks then the issue returned. This pattern has repeated since the issue first began; brakes feel odd, remove and replace reservoir cap, brakes return to normal.

I'm at a loss as to what is going on with this truck and would greatly appreciate any suggestions.

Thank you!
Dodge
Premium Member
join:2002-11-27

Dodge

Premium Member

Sound like you are building up pressure in the system and removing the cap vents it.

semotus
Premium Member
Plano, TX

semotus

Premium Member

Thanks Dodge,

I'm no master mechanic but that was what I thought as well.
Any idea what would cause pressure build up in the brake system?

Thank you!
Dodge
Premium Member
join:2002-11-27

Dodge

Premium Member

I'm not a mechanic, but after your post went to look online as I was curious, and I found some Corvette forums where it seems to be the vacuum problem with the brake booster. Also found some references to GM trucks having the same booster problem. This is not like what you are describing, but may be able to send you in the right direction:
»www.gmfullsize.com/forum ··· ?t=59941
PrntRhd
Premium Member
join:2004-11-03
Fairfield, CA

PrntRhd

Premium Member

said by Dodge:

I'm not a mechanic, but after your post went to look online as I was curious, and I found some Corvette forums where it seems to be the vacuum problem with the brake booster. Also found some references to GM trucks having the same booster problem. This is not like what you are describing, but may be able to send you in the right direction:
»www.gmfullsize.com/forum ··· ?t=59941

I agree entirely.