All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
bitterroot13
join:2014-01-23
Hamilton, MT

bitterroot13

[Equipment] Unlimited Data Sim and a Router with Voice.

I have two lines with unlimited data on verizon. I have them on stratospheres we are moving to an area that doesn't get high speed internet but I am a designer and need a fairly good internet speed.

I have a router with voice I bought off ebay. I have removed the sim card inside it and replaced it with my second unlimited data tied sim. Can I un-suspend that line and have that unlimited data with that router and the open phone line via the regulations that verizon cannot dictate which devices we use?

I don't mind if I have to pay the tethering fee but I can't afford to pay per GB when I never know what kind of usage each job will bring.
Zach
Premium Member
join:2006-11-26
Llano, CA

1 edit

Zach

Premium Member

I have a VZW unlimited data plan w/tethering and have had no problem switching the SIM between devices of the same class (LTE phones). I've been told the regulations *technically* only cover the switching of service between devices that support all of the features that the SIM is provisioned for. I've also heard the regulations *technically* only cover those who sub capped data plans. Heresy being what it is, what my eyes have witnessed is a different story. I've seen a Mifi hotspot work fine with a SIM from a phone with unlimited data w/tethering plan. I have no idea if the the subscriber incurred any charges on a later bill but it did work. I've also heard, on many occasions, reps at the local corporate store embracing SIM swapping of all sorts although use of services not specifically subscribed or included in a subscribed plan will result in charges at the pay-per-use rate. The stories and witness accounts are all over the map.