Search similar:

uniqs
darkpixel
join:2014-02-03
Winlock, WA

darkpixel

[Business] Packet loss on new install, techs say there are no issues

Click for full size
I am a 3rd party contractor. I recently recommended a customer switch from a local provider to Comcast because they were paying about $3,000/mo for 25/25 internet and a PRI, where Comcast quoted 100/25 and the PRI at $400/mo.

We are switching in phases. Internet was installed 02/27/2014.

I immediately ran into problems with packet loss and latency.

After doing a bunch of testing, here's what I've found and *verified* using multiple machines (Linux, Windows, and BSD):

If I ping from any device on 'my side' of the Comcast modem (i.e. something plugged in to the ethernet jacks and assigned an IP from our Comcast-assigned block), to any device on my side of the Comcast modem, I have no packet loss.

I can also ping from a device on my side *to* the modem's public IP without packet loss.

If I ping anything past the modem, I get (over a period of ~6 hours) 30% packet loss and an increase of ~25 msec RTT.

I tested this with a few IPs like Google's DNS servers, my office (which is on Comcast), and the next upstream hop past my router (as determined by a traceroute).

From the opposite side of the modem (from my home and from my office), I also get zero packet loss to the Comcast modem itself.

But I get ~30% packet loss to any device I plug in to the modem and an increase of ~25 msec RTT.

...so I figured it was something bizarre with the modem and called support again.
They were zero help.
They can ping the modem IP just fine with no packet loss. (And so can I from either inside the building or remotely from my house)

The moment they ping something on 'my' side of the modem, they see packet loss which they attribute to my network being screwed up. (Actually, they said it's because I'm not using their DNS servers which us utter crap)