spc
Search similar:

uniqs

disconnected
@sbcglobal.net

disconnected

Anon

[windows hosting] Setting Up Windows 7 64 IIS Server - FrontPage 2003 Won't Pub

I'm into Day 3 of troubleshooting this problem. History: I've been running an XP server since 2005 with relatively few problems. Now I'm attempting to update with the times and finding the process almost insurmountable.

Here's the short of it: Installed Windows 7 64 on DELL 390 PC. Installed all updates to Service Pack 1. Enabled IIS components, including WebDav. Enabled WWW HTTP port 80 through the firewall.

I can view the default web site both localhost and via another PC on the network by IP address of the server. So far, so good.

Next step is to put content on the server, so I fire up FrontPage 2003 and attempt to publish to the new server, using WebDav, since FrontPage Extensions are no longer supported in IIS 7.5.

Any attempts to publish result in the following error from FP2003:

"405 - HTTP verb used to access this page is not allowed.
Server Error 405 - HTTP verb used to access this page is not allowed. The page you are looking for cannot be displayed because an invalid method (HTTP verb) was used to attempt access. "

I've also tried to FTP into the site, but after several password prompts, "could not find a web server on port 21" appears. I've set the rules to allow FTP through the firewall, so this error shouldn't be happening.

Ideally, I'd prefer to publish via FrontPage Extensions as that kept all my content and links up to date automatically.