spc
Search similar:

uniqs

francjam
@72.252.175.x

francjam

Anon

[Installer] Hughesnet

I used to be an installer and was curious if I wanted to reinstall my Hughesnet service at a different location using only my SATFINDER would the satellite be loacted at 89W or 95W or 97W

Raminto
join:2006-02-28
Whitehorse, YT

2 edits

Raminto

You will have to point the dish to the satellite you are assigned to. This info can be found in the SCC.
If your new location is lets say is 30km or more away from the previous one you will need to change the location in the modem and run "registration installer".
All this assuming your account is still active.

dbirdman
MVM
join:2003-07-07
usa

dbirdman to francjam

MVM

to francjam
I think we can say for sure it won't be 97W (I don't think Hughes ever used that one), but it could 83W, 87W, 89W, 91W, 95W, 99W, 113W, 117W or 127W. Whatever you are assigned to. You can't change your assignment.

francjam
@72.252.175.x

francjam to Raminto

Anon

to Raminto
Just a thought if I can find out which Satellite the Modem is assigned to I suppose in the System Control Console (is that SCC?) found posibbly by going to (»198.0.????) even if my location is 200KM away as long as I am aiming to the right satellite and my account is still active I should think it would not be a problem.

gwalk
Premium Member
join:2005-07-27
West Mich.

gwalk

Premium Member

6000 & 7000 systems are assigned to a satellite and a transponder frequency and require only line of site to the satellite unlike 9000 & Gen4 which require you to also be within the footprint of your beam.

You can find your assigned sat by looking in the modems SCC found by entering 192.168.0.1

You say you used to be an installer ?

dbirdman
MVM
usa

dbirdman to francjam

MVM

to francjam