spc
Search similar:

uniqs
Mike1948
join:2011-02-28
Poynette, WI

Mike1948

How many TVs on one digital cable box

Noob here. With Charter going all digital I need a new box/boxes for other analog TVs how many times can I split that signal going to other TVs in the house? My cable runs all start in one place so I could put the new box(es) in a closet and control with a RF remote from different rooms. I realize they all would be on the same channel but that is Ok for now. 5 TVs at this point. Long story short, I want to put 5 analog tvs on one new box (The kids don't need all different channels). Can it be done with a splitter?

Masque
join:2001-12-04
Auburn, MI

Masque

To the best of my knowledge.....one per box. We ended up needing two additional boxes once we went all digital for that very reason.
mdavej
join:2004-06-09
united state

mdavej to Mike1948

to Mike1948
Splitting shouldn't be a problem. You may have to add an amp if the signal gets too bad. Remember, every split cuts the signal strength in half. Restaurants do that kind of thing all the time.

PFH
Bully For You
join:2003-06-26
Saint Louis, MO

PFH to Mike1948

to Mike1948
If you're splitting the output of a single cable box and delivering signal to analog TVs via coax ('channel 3'), you may need to use a distribution amp (Electroline makes some great ones) to push to multiple TVs. If you're doing it via a composite or component signal, there are other amps that are useful for this sort of signal distribution.

Be sure that when you get a box from Charter, it has an analog RF output. Many boxes only have HDMI / component (5-wire) / composite (3-wire) outputs. I have one that's got RF on a cheezy bedroom TV, but I don't recall the model number offhand.

mmainprize
join:2001-12-06
Houghton Lake, MI

mmainprize to Mike1948

to Mike1948