spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

advgNY

@verizon.net

Server is Killing Power Supplies

I have a rack of 4 HP DL350's and 1 HP DL320. All of the servers are connected to an APC Smart-UPS 3000XL. The UPS logs show no issues with the power.

The DL320 server (the only one w/ 1 power supply) - has been through 3 of them this year. The server works fine for a few months, and then the PS dies and needs to be replaced. Today, I am now installing a 4th one.

Any ideas what the cause may be? I have a UPS hooked up....power is clean....is it heat? I have all 5 servers together in the rack...should I try moving the DL320 so it has better airflow? I have never seen this before...

Thanks!

yaplej
Premium
join:2001-02-10
White City, OR
I am no electrical engineer but don't the power supplies just plug into a common voltage control board? With one power supply it pulls 100% power from it and with 2+ the power is distributed over them.

They should output DC so its not like you would have some odd AC distortion/sync problem.

I assume no amount of pulling out/inserting the same power supply causes it to come back online? Seems like it would have to be something wrong with the voltage controller though. Its not probable that someone would get 3 bad power supplies in a row unless your supplier is giving you junk.

Looks like HP has that voltage module/power supply back-plane embedded into the power supply cage.
HP Part# 532473-001
--
sk_buff what?

Open Source Network Accelerators
»www.trafficsqueezer.org
»www.opennop.org

JoelC707
Premium
join:2002-07-09
Lanett, AL
kudos:5
reply to advgNY
I'm not familiar with HP servers but it looks like the DL320 is a single PSU only model. Do any of the DL350's experience this problem or is it just the DL320? How loaded is that server, and what size PSU is in there (presuming there are options for different wattage PSUs)?