spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Billy Brethr

join:2005-04-01
San Antonio, TX

Wireless Router Antennas: Why Can't I Do This?

I want to cover as much open-air area as possible with good-quality wireless signal. I have this idea of connecting RG-6 cables to the wireless router, running the cables up the roof and zip-tying the cables & antennas to pole 5 ft. above the top of the top of the roof. Higher is better, right?

I've read a few things online, but no one seems to want to move the antennas to where they need wireless; they want to move the whole router, and this doesn't make any sense to me.

gatorkram
Need for Speed
Premium
join:2002-07-22
Winterville, NC
kudos:3
Reviews:
·Suddenlink

I'm no expert, but I think it has to do with the loss at those high freqs. You'd need some serious cables to do what you are talking about imo.
--
What the heck is a GatorKram? »www.gatorkram.com

LittleBill

join:2013-05-24
kudos:1

above poster is right, huge loss in the cabling unless using lmr type cable

if your doing it for outside usuage look at bullet or pico from ubiquiti, other wise u can potentially shoot over the client

LLigetfa

join:2006-05-15
Fort Frances, ON
reply to Billy Brethr

said by Billy Brethr:

I've read a few things online, but no one seems to want to move the antennas to where they need wireless; they want to move the whole router, and this doesn't make any sense to me.

Leave the router where it is. Install an outdoor AP powered over the ethernet.
--
Strange as it seems, no amount of learning can cure stupidity, and formal education positively fortifies it. -- Stephen Vizinczey

Billy Brethr

San Antonio, TX
reply to LittleBill

said by LittleBill:

above poster is right, huge loss in the cabling unless using lmr type cable

if your doing it for outside usuage look at bullet or pico from ubiquiti, other wise u can potentially shoot over the client

How much loss? How far is too far?

John Galt
Forward, March