uniqs
towerdave
join:2002-01-16
O Fallon, IL

1 recommendation

towerdave to Lurch77

to Lurch77

Re: Home Appraisal - How to Increase

When we refinanced, we put together a little booklet that listed all the renovations/upgrades we had done to the house since we purchased it. The big one being a brand new kitchen. I think this helped a lot. Our appraisal came back VERY high, way more than we needed for the refi. If someone would have offered me that price on our house that day, I might have sold it on the spot.

I'm not an expert, but my dad was an appraiser for a number of years after being a real estate broker for a number of years, so I've learned a bit from my parents. My mom just retired from being a broker as well.

The way it worked many times for him is that he would do the appraisal, and then the bank would come back and ask him if he could justify it being just a bit higher to meet the requirements of the loan. So there is wiggle room there. My dad is a straight arrow person, so he would only do that if he could honestly make it work. I'm sure appraisers aren't as honest and will do whatever it takes to make the person who paid them happy.

Basically, an appraiser is going to measure your house, and then compare it to recent sales in the area that are close, and do +/- for major differences. For example, if Comp 1 has an older kitchen, but yours is brand new, you get a + for that. If Comp 2 has a 3 car garage, but yours is only 2, you get a - for that. And so on. This is especially important in a neighborhood with many houses of the same basic floor plan. So yes, appearance and condition matter when it comes time for the wiggle room.

That's most of what I know.

TD

DarkHelmet
join:2014-02-21

4 edits

DarkHelmet

said by towerdave: