All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
avze
join:2013-08-19

4 edits

avze

[WIN7] ***URGENT*** Issue with Admin Account Locking Out!

I am running as an Admin account on Win7 (I know for security reasons) its not practical, but I must so since I am always doing maintenances/updates/patches/development and etc.... on my machine and I have to... But anyways, I stumbled across this really strange issue.
Whenever I access the User Accounts from the Control Panel, three times, my Account locks out!!!! all the time.

I did numerous testing on this.
First, I opened up User Accounts one time. My Account was not locked out.
Then tried two. No lockout. Then three. And my Account was locked.
Now luckily, since I am using the PC as an Admin, I was able to unlock my account.
And plus, I keep a Win7 OS image handy.
My number of bad password attempts settings under Local Security Policy are set to 3 attempts after it locks out.
I am NOT under any Domain. Just a standalone machine.
I am behind a router/firewall, using locked down Win7 settings.
Does anyone have any clues why my Account keeps locking out after accessing the User Accounts control console 3 times???

And, I tested this also on my notebook, still the same happening. Account lockes account after opening the User Accounts console 3 or more times.
And I don't have to to change any settings in there, It even locks out just by opening the User Account icon under the Control Panel.

I will keep on testing this. The notebook has the same Local Security Policy settings to lock out account after 3 bad or failed password attempts.

Very weird!!!!!!

****EDIT**** >>>>>> More testing under the Control Panel. I tried opening other tools from the Control Panel like Power Options, Flash, Java 3 times randomly, then checked my User Account, and no lock outs. So it seems it only just does this when only accessing the USER ACCOUNT tool more times....