All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
TheButler
join:2014-03-28
Etobicoke, ON

TheButler

Community input : Home all-in-one anonymizer (proxy server)

I'm looking for some community input on choosing some hardware and software for a project I'd like to setup at home.

Am I wasting my time ? my money ? Will this be more work that I realize ? Does anyone know of better options to accomplish my goals ? Just want to put things out there before I start working on this in depth.

About me : My background is Electronics, but years ago I was taught to setup a Linux server and compile code. I never really use these skills alot, but I manage to get by.

Thanks ahead of time for any responses.

My goals are :
- Access US-restricted content from my home in Canada.
- Encrypt network traffic to bypass my ISP's Deep Packet Inspection (DPI) equipment
- Be able to use the remote server as a platform for other misc. projects like hosting files, publicly-accessible game servers (i.e. Minecraft, etc.) or voice services.

Restrictions :
- Solution should be affordable. I don't mind paying 1-time costs for quality hardware but want to avoid excessive monthly bills.
- I want to maintain control of my own network (so no 3rd-party VPN services)
- I'm limited to my ISP's DSL modem @ 30MiBps/10MiBps

My current plan :

- Rent a US linux server
Not sure how much processor power / RAM I will need, or if I can use one of those cheaper virtual "VPS" options out there.

- Choose a home router capable of on-the-fly encryption.
I'm assuming I'll have to be picky here, because I want to be sure the routers runs a VPN protocol that will also run on the remote Linux box. No idea what protocols are popular atm.
HELLFIRE
MVM
join:2009-11-25

HELLFIRE

MVM

Just to get the smart aleckery out of me and out of the way...
said by TheButler:

Am I wasting my time ?

Possibly
said by TheButler:

my money ?

Most Definately
said by TheButler:

Will this be more work that I realize ?

Oh yes