All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs

reluctantJ
@rcn.com

reluctantJ

Anon

[Other] cable node hosting contract renewing - current rates?

I am an IT professional living in Chicago, and I've been asked for help by a neighbor. The neighbor is elderly and has a Comcast cable node installed in their back yard, by the garage. This node has been in place since 1999, and the neighbor has been signing 5-year leases with Comcast for $15K apiece. The contract has just come up for renewal, and the neighbor is very incented to get more out of this arrangement.

$3K/yr to host the cable node seems low to me, and I worry that this neighbor is being taken advantage of. Any advice appreciated.

rJ
HarryH3
Premium Member
join:2005-02-21

HarryH3

Premium Member

I don't know the current rate, but I'm sure that many people would gladly let the cable company put a box in their yard for an extra 3 grand in free cash per year! (I'd probably hold out for a free triple-play setup in the house as well.)

LazMan
Premium Member
join:2003-03-26
Beverly Hills, CA

LazMan to reluctantJ

Premium Member

to reluctantJ
In my experience, the Telco/Cableco generally doesn't pay anything - they just place whatever they want/need within the easements or on the existing RoW, and that's that...

Can you get a pic, or better describe this node?

I'd be very leary of pushing for more - $3k a year isn't a ton, sure; but it's a lot better then nothing, too...
HELLFIRE
MVM
join:2009-11-25

HELLFIRE to reluctantJ

MVM

to reluctantJ
2nd HarryH3 See Profile... see if this neighbor couldn't finagle that as well.

I was hunting around the internet but couldn't find this particular story... supposedly someone
has an internet setup that happened to function as the ISP's core node; long story short, the ISP
forgot about it, customer griped about something and held ISP hostage till the ISP gave them free 100Mbp internet
to get their 'core' back.

Regards

weaseled386
join:2008-04-13