uniqs

calmblythe
Premium Member
join:2014-04-12
Toronto, ON

1 edit

calmblythe

Premium Member

[Cable] Is it possible to get Cable 25 at $34.99 instead of $41.95?

It's my first time getting Internet on my own and I've done considerable research and have compared Tek, Acanac, Start, and Electronic Box.

After reading many threads on multiple sites and comparing services on each ISP's sites, I'd settled on Electronic Box's Cable 25, ($34.95) because I'm on a budget and their price is great (I can't afford more than $40 after taxes and theirs comes to just about). However, EB doesn't have happy hours and UL and DL both count toward one considerably lower cap of 100GB/month, which raises concerns where overages are concerned.

I could go for Tek's Cable 6, as suggested by someone I chatted with via Tek's Online Help Centre, but I do pretty much everything short of gaming. I use P2P, stream high-def videos (on YouTube and Vimeo, primarily), video call on Skype and FaceTime, sync files via Dropbox, upload large assignments (graphic design work), etc. So I know 6Mbps is too low.

There's also the DSL 15/10, but I don't want to go the DSL route. I want Cable for its [theoretical] speed and reliability. Therein lies my dilemma.

After thinking about it, I figured I could ask for Cable 25 at the cost of DSL 15/10, but I was told that she (the tech support agent) 'didn't have the ability to negotiate that price.' I thought I'd ask here in case someone could help me. I don't even mind if the monthly cap gets dropped to 150- or 100GB or something, just as long as I can have a price within my budget, cable Internet, and the peace of mind that happy hours and free uploads provide.

JenSuisUn
Premium Member
join:2006-02-23
Chatham, ON

JenSuisUn

Premium Member

Hello,