Tirael
BOHICA
Premium Member
join:2009-03-18
Sacramento, CA

Tirael

Premium Member

[Servers] Setting up a home web/file server

Hey guys. I have been around the forums awhile and I lurk through several places. I have a (not-so-quick) quick question. I have setup a home file/webserver that is running a website using Apache2 on Debian Linux. Do you guys have any advice on hardening the system? You guys can test it out at www.chaoticconfused.com to see if anyone can find things I may have missed in the setup. I have used back-ends through a few webhosting sites in the past, but this is my first time doing it from the ground up. No, I am not trying to shamelessly plug anything, it would just be nice to get a few pointers.
Bink
Villains... knock off all that evil
join:2006-05-14
Colorado

2 recommendations

Bink

Ideally you do not want your publicly exposed web server to also be your home file server (at minimum your web server could be a virtual machine running on the same host). Since you are running this on a UNIX-like system, I also recommend Apache be chrooted if not already and if possible (read up on this if you are not familiar with it).

clarknova
join:2010-02-23
Grande Prairie, AB

2 recommendations

clarknova to Tirael

to Tirael
I agree with Bink. A home file server is a trusted machine, while a public-facing web server is untrusted. My approach would be to create separate servers as virtual machines and place them in separate local networks. Your firewall would then prevent the web server from accessing local networks (and possibly the internet as well, depending on your needs).

Tirael
BOHICA
Premium Member
Sacramento, CA

Tirael

Premium Member

I will definitely see what I can do to try to implement your suggestions. Is this true even if the file server requires user authentication for access? I am also using nonstandard ports for all services (SSH, FTP, and etc).
HELLFIRE
MVM
join:2009-11-25

2 recommendations

HELLFIRE to Tirael

MVM

to Tirael