bbbc
join:2001-10-02
NorthAmerica

bbbc

[Plumbing] Dealing with water heater smell, more mildew than sulfur

Click for full size
Click for full size
Click for full size
Went away for a month and I probably screwed up by turning off the water heater through the circuit breaker. I came back to a strong mildew smell and I finally figured out it was coming from the water heater. The articles I've read all suggest a sulfur / rotten egg smell from tank bacteria, but my subjective take is I'm smelling mildew.

I placed a good amount of hydrogen peroxide in the floor drain, just in case the funk was coming from it. Unfortunately, the smell still lingers.

I'd like to add hydrogen peroxide to the water heater, but as a layman I can't figure out how I can get it into the tank to add it. I'd also like to deal with the sacrificial anode rod. I think I know where the anode rod is, but I doubt I have the clearance to pull it out since the heater is under a staircase. Back in the day, I installed a new water heater on my own, but I've never seen such a clusterf*ck of connections on any other water heater like the one I now have. Disconnecting the water heater from that connection mess doesn't look easy. Just wondering if I need to hire someone, which I'm trying to avoid. If I did hire someone, I'd probably make then install a Rusco Hot Water Spin Down Filter - »www.cleanwaterstore.com/ ··· ers.html .

»youtu.be/97ett_HNu4k

jack b
Gone Fishing
MVM
join:2000-09-08
Cape Cod

jack b

MVM

You could drain some water out and remove the T&P relief valve to add some peroxide, but that probably won't do anything about odors external to the tank.

I have a question for you: what is this device with it's own discharge piping teed into the cold inlet line, I have never seen a plumbing arrangement like this.

I get the vacuum breaker on the cold inlet tee (brass w/black cap) but can't fathom the other "valve" purpose.
Tig
join:2006-06-29
Carrying Place, ON

Tig to bbbc

to bbbc