uniqs

obeythelaw
Premium Member
join:2003-04-16
Warren, NJ

obeythelaw

Premium Member

pay of tmobile phone and unlocked

I am new to Tmobile and signed up with the iPhone 5s where I got it with no money down and pay it every month pursuant to the EIP. I am wondering, once its paid in full, is the phone automatically unlocked? So I can go to AT&T, for example?

Thinkdiff
MVM,
join:2001-08-07
Bronx, NY

Thinkdiff

MVM,

Not sure if it's automatic, but T-Mobile will unlock it once it's paid. Might just require a phone call to get the process in motion.

The T-Mobile iPhone 5s works fine on AT&T.

Edit: More info here. Looks like it requires a phone call:
»support.t-mobile.com/doc ··· DOC-1588

obeythelaw
Premium Member
Warren, NJ

obeythelaw

Premium Member

Thank you.

acadiel
Press fire to begin
Premium Member
join:2002-06-22
Atlanta
Apple AirPort Express (2012)
Apple AirPort Extreme (2013)
ARRIS SB6183

acadiel

Premium Member

It'll eventually be automatic. Check out condition #2 and #5.

»www.ctia.org/docs/defaul ··· king.pdf

All these have to be implemented by the carriers by 02/2015.

obeythelaw
Premium Member
Warren, NJ

obeythelaw

Premium Member

That is nice to see for once. I contacted Tmobile yesterday and they didn't give me a hard time about unlocking but said that it can take as little as 24 hours or as much as a week. Everything I read online indicates that the carrier sends it to Apple and Apple adds the IMEI to their database right away showing it is unlocked. Tmobile said I will get an email with an unlock code and/or unlock instructions. What exactly will i have to do to unlock?
Daemon
Premium Member
join:2003-06-29
Washington, DC

Daemon

Premium Member

said by obeythelaw: