spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

lmacmil

join:2001-01-26
South Bend, IN

[memory] SD card became unreadable - why?

I have a Transcend 8GB class 10 in a Panasonic/Lumix digital camera (point and shoot). I had shot hundreds of pictures on it when the camera stopped recognizing the card. Couldn't be read by a card reader either. I found some software and was able to recover the pictures before I re-formatted it.

The camera is relatively new and I have never used a Transcend brand card before (or an SDHC card or a class 10 card.)

What would you suspect was the most likely culprit in screwing up the card: the camera or something in the card itself? I will be carrying a spare card or two before my next trip.

Dogg
Premium
join:2003-06-11
Belleville, IL

Could be either the card, camera, or mishandling (such as removing the card with the camera on). In any event, until/unless it happens again, I wouldn't worry about it.
--
Google is your Friend

dib22

join:2002-01-27
Kansas City, MO
reply to lmacmil

I've had this happen before, question: did you format the card originally on the camera or the pc? I had a camera (some off brand digital) that would work 80% of the time if the card wasn't formatted on the camera itself.

I have had several cameras good and bad do this to a card when the card is ejected while in use... simple workaround: power down camera always before ejecting the card.

wolfy339

join:2005-04-30
Edmonds, WA
reply to lmacmil

Another thing I would look at is if you have a computer with an SD Card reader I would stick the card in and see if the computer recognizes it. You may want to run a chkdsk on it if formatted FAT32 or NTFS (presuming said compter is running some flavor of Windows)
--