dslreports logo

All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
jay d bee
join:2014-04-18

jay d bee

[Connectivity] Major packet loss issue HELP!!

Let me start by saying I am not very tech savvy at all, so I apologize in advance for the lack of info included when describing my problem.

I was having major "lag" problems while console gaming so I asked a friend what I should do and he referred me to this site and it's ping test. I haven't called Comcast yet, as I don't really know what to tell them to get help fixing the problem. I was hoping to get some advice or pointers before calling them so I have some kind of idea about exactly what my issue is. I'm using a Technicolor 8305c modem.

»/pingt ··· /3175925
jay d bee

jay d bee

[Connectivity] Re: Major packet loss issue HELP!!

Is the link to my test viewable?

MDA
Auto Negotiating
Premium Member
join:2013-09-10
Minneapolis, MN
Netgear CM600
Asus RT-AC66U B1

MDA to jay d bee

Premium Member

to jay d bee
Yes, your link is perfectly viewable.

Does your router have a firewall enabled on it? It looks like an ICMP issue where the pings are blocked at your end.

The other places where there is loss is also a form of ICMP blocking since those servers are probably managed to be kept under high load, but is normal on the internet. As long as it gets to you, that's what counts.
jay d bee

jay d bee

Yes, a "low security" firewall.

Thank you for the response.

MDA
Auto Negotiating
Premium Member
Minneapolis, MN
Netgear CM600
Asus RT-AC66U B1

MDA

Premium Member

Choose Custom security and see If there is an option to allow ICMP or Ping from WAN port (or something of the sort), enable that and see if it fixes the issue.

Disabling the entire firewall (which I do on all my home routers since they all block more than necessary, but never do that for a company.) would be the next step if it still fails to ping you.