share rss forum feed

signmeuptoo
Bless you Howie
Premium
join:2001-11-22
NanoParticle
kudos:5

System backups: How do they work?

My ISP provides Norton 360, which keeps insisting on running a backup. I have no experience making and restoring from a backup as I've always done fresh installs. How does the norton backup work, if I can't boot, how do I used the norton backup to restore? Is the backup self booting?

davidhoffman
Premium
join:2009-11-19
Warner Robins, GA
kudos:3
The online cloud backup is not designed to back up operating systems for immediate use. It is mainly for backing up data files. The usable backup of operating system or programs is to be to a CD, DVD, Flash Drive, or portable hard drive. The best way is usually to backup to CD or DVDs for computers with CD or DVD drives. The computers usually have a built in boot from CD or DVD capability. Put the disk in and make a quick the selection form the brief start up messages on the screen.

You can backup the operating system and programs to the cloud storage, but you would have to download them to a disk anyway to use them to attempt to repair a computer. I would think saving some of the CDs or DVDs in a small fire and water proof safe designed for DVD storage would be a good idea also. »www.sentrysafe.com/Products/469/···of_chest.

That way you would have a cloud backup and a hard
copy backup of operating systems and programs.

»us.norton.com/360/

signmeuptoo
Bless you Howie
Premium
join:2001-11-22
NanoParticle
kudos:5
Thank you, David. It would have been nice for Symantec to explain that this is not a whole install backup. There should be better terminology. Honestly, sometimes I get disappointed in software makers, they don't know how to communicate.

Dustyn
Premium
join:2003-02-26
Ontario, CAN
kudos:11
»Software Forum Member Choice »Preferred Backup & Imaging Programs - 2011 Member Choice