Exodus
Your Daddy
Premium Member
join:2001-11-26
Earth

Exodus

Premium Member

Need to broaden my knowledge: Solaris

I'm an AIX/Linux Administrator. I feel like I've got a pretty good handle on these operating systems. I can handle most any flavor of Linux thrown at me for enterprise needs and I have no problems handling AIX4 through 7, physical or virtual.

I'd like to expand my knowledge base a bit, based on what I'm seeing on industry needs. It looks like people have been asking for a lot of hybrid knowledge since I'm seeing a large trend for people to migrate from proprietary unix systems to Linux x86 systems to take advantage of the same VMware x86 architecture that most organizations run their Windows environment off of as well.

Basically, I need to learn Solaris, but I already understand other variants of Unix. I'm hoping for something that could get me up to speed rather quickly. Any suggestions? I'd like to learn HP-UX as well, but I have no access to an HP-UX environment and no immediate need to learn it.

Brano
I hate Vogons
MVM
join:2002-06-25
Burlington, ON
(Software) OPNsense
Ubiquiti UniFi UAP-AC-PRO
Ubiquiti NanoBeam M5 16

Brano

MVM

How about putting one into VM and start playing with it ...
»www.oracle.com/technetwo ··· teId=opn

Exodus
Your Daddy
Premium Member
Earth

Exodus

Premium Member

I have access to federally regulated production solaris boxes if I want to log on with root and mess around with. Thanks.

(Seriously, thanks. I'll load a copy in a VM on my laptop at some point.)

leibold
MVM
join:2002-07-09
Sunnyvale, CA
Netgear CG3000DCR
ZyXEL P-663HN-51

leibold to Exodus

MVM

to Exodus
Shouldn't be too difficult: just forget all the proprietary bits IBM added to Unix to create AIX and you are pretty close to Solaris already

Like most commercial Unix flavors Solaris has a mixed heritage of System V and BSD Unix (with Sun having made reasonable choices while picking from the two options).