Search similar:

uniqs
lookame2002
join:2014-05-08
Glendale, AZ

lookame2002

Need help with new installation

Hello
I am just register to get help from all of you guys because I am new with DSL.
Just got the installation yesterday, 20mb internet plan + phone + tv I installed the modem PK5001Z got through the activation process, no problem here but on the modem status the downstream is only 16.906 Mbps and Upstream: 0.824 Mbps, I tried to plug to the second wall plug and I got the same result. I read online some where to see the real speed go plug directly at the pole name NID plug at the box, so I took the modem and laptop outside the house to try and here I can see the 20Mb. I think maybe my inside line is bad, so I ran a new cable cat5e from the box to the modem but I got the same result (16.2Mb / 784b), is it normal? I don't know what to check next.
When doing the speed test online, I got 14.43Mb only
Any advices are welcome thanks a lot

toby
Troy Mcclure
join:2001-11-13
Seattle, WA

toby

Did they install a filter/splitter at the NID (box on the side of your house) ?

It looks like the wiring to your house is fine.

Run that same test, but with the internal wiring all disconnected.

Stan B
@67.238.38.x

Stan B to lookame2002

Anon

to lookame2002
You did the right thing when you ran new Cat 5 to your modem. Try disconnecting all the other wiring to your phone jacks through the home and see if you get full speed without the other wiring being connected.
If you get 20 mb with the other wiring disconnected, then this other wire is upsetting your connection somehow. You may need DSL filters on the phones of there is not any filters used now. Or you may have loads of unnecessary wire involved. Leave any unneeded wire disconnected from the DSL Line.
You may also have very old wire involved that does not work well on Data.
You may have a bad phone plugged in too.
gapmn
join:2013-11-10
Saint Paul, MN

1 edit

gapmn to lookame2002

to lookame2002