spc
Search similar:

uniqs

DInosanto
@50.29.96.x

DInosanto

Anon

Sandboxie + VPN

as a novice, I was wondering whether there is any benefit to combining an app like Sandboxie with a VPN (eg. Cyberghost)?

Chubbzie
join:2014-02-11
Greenville, NC

Chubbzie

Depends, what is your end goal utilizing those two together?

DInosanto
@50.29.97.x

DInosanto

Anon

Security while browsing. On rare occasion may go to questionable site. Just overall surfing.

Use KI + MBAM Pro ( & more) and am careful (usually)

Chubbzie
Greenville, NC
Hitron CDA3
(Software) OpenBSD + pf

Chubbzie

That should be sufficient for protection of standard web surfing. Just be sure that any outlying browser plugins and/or external applications that can be called from the browser are also included in the sandbox.

If you get the chance you might want to take a look at the Aviator browser:
WhiteHat Aviator

HA Nut
Premium Member
join:2004-05-13
USA

HA Nut to DInosanto

Premium Member

to DInosanto
As one layer of a good security approach, IMO, Sandboxie can certainly improve your security. If you're always starting with a clean machine/sandbox, doing personal/private business should be reasonably safe. Do these kinds of things 1st thing in your sessions, not later. (Remember the sandbox protects your computer, not the sandbox. If something bad is in there, it's bad until you close and delete the sandbox.)

As for VPNs, they are a means to achieving a bit of privacy. I've never used Cyberghost but they say it offers security. IMO, baloney! Do you send personal/private information in the clear all the time? (Hopefully you don't!) Data still has to exit Cyberghost's tunnel at some point and the data would be viewable again to all who might be able to do so. So Cyberghost's "protection" is limited. Also, remember that if you use Cyberghost, you'd be running your stuff through their tunnel. You'd be trusting them with whatever you're sending through them. So it's not 100% anonymous.

Chubbzie