All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
poodleguy
join:2014-06-26
Fort Lauderdale, FL

poodleguy

Goodbye Dish. Hello Uverse. But what about my dvr size and recordings?

My HOA for my new condo won't allow DISH (I know the FCC rules but I have no balcony or patio so satellite is totally out of the question.) So next week I have Uverse coming for an install.

I am not excited yet as I have over 1.5 TB of recordings on my Dish plus external and I understand Uverse DVR is at most 155 hours of HD. Yikes. And no external is possible? And only 2 channels (or is it 4 of HD) recording at once. Wow I am in for some changes.

Can anyone clarify if it is possible at all to connect an external? I've been reading lots of this forum and it seems I could switch the ATT hard drive to a larger one on my own but I am not that technical. Any clear advice for me? And any ideas on how I might get my Dish recordings to go along with me? Dish says they can't be read by any device but Dish DVR. Can I convert them or can I read them on my computer as long as they are on my external?

I've driven the att service agents crazy asking them so many questions. Any help from anyone here is much appreciated.

rolande
Certifiable
MVM,
join:2002-05-24
Dallas, TX
ARRIS BGW210-700
Cisco Meraki MR42

rolande

MVM,

Depending on the U-verse bandwidth profile the tech is able to install, you should get 4 HD and 2 SD streams.