spc
Search similar:

uniqs

BrandonWaver
@76.97.211.x

BrandonWaver

Anon

WRT4GL hardware issue - power cuts off when I move router

I have a Linksys WRT54GL v1.1 that I put Tomato 1.28 on (I had DDWRT on it before that). It has been around for many years but seems to work well except that any time I bump or move it (for example put turn it on its side or set it on its faces, the power will cut out. I move it some more and it will come back on and work fine.

It really looks like there is something loose in the hardware. I haven't opened it up yet (and I'm not scared) but I don't have a lot of experience with electronics (although I have a soldering iron and have some some soldering although I'm not that good at it) and I'm not sure were to start troubleshooting where the faulty connection may be. I do have a multimeter.

Anyone familiar with these routers know if this is a common issue or places I should start looking once I crack the case? I tried messing around with the power cord in case there was a short but I don't think it is the cord.

Thanks!

Salty_Peaks
@173.255.181.x

1 recommendation

Salty_Peaks

Anon

I suspect the 12V DC connection on the PCB needs to be resoldered. Not uncommon, could be a stress fracture. I'd pull the rubber feet off the bottom, move the screws, pull the front face, and then pop it open. I'm going from memory (don't have one in front of me) but I recall there are three legs from that connector that is through-PCB mounted. Two DC negatives that look like [ ] and the center pin (polarity positive). I'd just re-melt them with your soldering iron. Get it good and hot first -- shouldn't need to add any solder.

If the center pin is loose or shorted out you might have to desolder and resolder a new one. It's an easy task -- hope this helps.

Bill_MI
Bill In Michigan
MVM
join:2001-01-03
Royal Oak, MI
TP-Link Archer C7
Linksys WRT54GS
Linksys WRT54G v4

1 recommendation

Bill_MI to BrandonWaver

MVM

to BrandonWaver