Search similar:

uniqs

dullroar
@173.17.250.x

1 recommendation

dullroar

Anon

Stay away from the Surfboard SBG6782-ACH combo modem/router

I can't say what I really think about this product without breaking into profanity.

Experience: I have been a programmer for 28 years, on the internet since 1995, using cable for internet connectivity since 1999. I have flashed the firmware (OpenWRT, Tomato) on multiple routers from multiple vendors over the years and configured them for a household with over 30 devices between six people (really), and telecommuted from home for years at a time. I say all that just to say I am not new to this. Now, on to the screed, er, review.

First, what's right - the specs. It is a DOCSIS 3.0 modem with a 802.11 AC wireless/gigabit wired router. It set up OK and activation through my cable provider (Mediacom) was painless. When it is working I can get 86Mbps down and 10Mbps up through it according to Speedtest (I am on a 100Mb plan).

Now, what's wrong - the firmware. My hope in purchasing this was to get rid of a flaky, rented DOCSIS 2.0 modem and a Netgear router running Tomato firmware and merge both functions into one device. So much for that. I've ended up running the old Netgear router behind the Surfboard just to have a reliable router back. The Surfboard's firmware (it is on version SBG6X82-8.4.0.0-GA-05-809-NOSH) is not user-upgradable (because it's a cable modem and apparently the cable providers have to push it out). And while Cox and Xfinity are pushing updates for it, Mediacom isn't. Which means things like being able to set DNS in the router is unavailable (that's fixed in a later firmware version that my cable company isn't pushing out). So I can't set it to provide OpenDNS to DHCP clients in the house (which we use for filtering what sites the teens get to).