All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
z101891
join:2014-07-13

z101891

[Free] Belarc Advisor Installation Problem

I recently received my new desktop computer. It came with Windows 7 Ultimate installed on one of the 3 hard drives.
The first thing I installed was Belarc Advisor. I did this so I would have a full inventory of my system. I have been using Belarc for many years.
I downloaded Belarc onto another computer I own and copied the installation file onto my new computer. The installation went great and I was able to get a complete inventory of my new computer.
I forgot that I already had it installed. The other day I downloaded the installation file again and attempted installation. I have always downloaded from the Belarc website.
When I tried the reinstallation, I got the following message box:

This software requires an additional 14857038 K bytes free on the C:
> drive. Please remove any unnecessary files and try again.
>
> There are 3 options to select when I get this error. ABORT, RETRY, and
> IGNORE. These 3 options are the same ones I have been receiving
> on every reinstall.
>
> If I select IGNORE, it appears to install. But when I try to run it I
> only get a real quick flash of what appears to be a DOS box. That is
> all. Belarc Advisor does not run. If I select ABORT, the installation
> aborts normally. If I select RETRY, nothing happens.
>
> I have repeated the removal of the program through the traditional
> Windows add/remove programs, but I still get the error on each attempt
> to get it to run. My operating system is Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit. As
> a reminder, I had successfully installed and used Belarc Advisor on
> this desktop approximately 6 weeks ago. I forgot I had it installed
> and attempted re-installation. I removed the program with traditional
> Windows add/remove programs and I have not been able to get it to
> install since.
>