uniqs

tcat007
join:2010-10-04
Austin, TX

tcat007

SB6141 Bonding Channel question(s)

Click for full size
Click for full size
I bought a new SB6141 about a year ago, no issues until a few weeks ago. I lose connection 3 or 4 times a week (sometimes a day). Lately I don't lose the connection, speeds just drop from norm of >20mps to under 1mps. Called TWC "all is well"... I have rebooted 5 times today, and this last time I'm back to >20mps. What I noticed:

The 4 times I rebooted and had 1mps I showed six upstream bonding channels, one channel (#3) showed 26db at -16v (out of spec). All others were OK (other than uncorrectable codewords on channel 3 were almost as great as the total.

This last reboot, I'm not seeing channel 3, and all is well (only 5 ds bonding channels).

What causes a "bad" channel to "appear", and does it have anything to do with TWC or my modem?
tourbound129
join:2014-06-03
USA

tourbound129

I am not an expert but I can give you my recent experience. I have spent the last 3 weeks with 2 techs out to my house, numerous calls to TWC, twitter chats with TWC_help and finally today my problem was solved.

The first tech barely checked anything in the house, went outside for a little bit and came back in and called in a low digital power problem. Supposedly TWC did some adjustments on the node and I did see an increase in my SNR from 29db to the 31-33 range (on 3 of my 8 channels...my good channels were all at 38db). However, I was still having the same issues as you. My speed would drop from 100mb to less than 3, then recover, sometimes after the modem rebooted itself. Occassionally instead of 8x4 bonding I would get 5x4 with all the bad channels gone and it would work perfect.

2 techs came out today and finally narrowed down my problem to a poorly crimped connector at the wall plate near my modem that was lazily installed by the builder when the house was built. They changed out the connector and boom I was getting 38 db SNR across all 8 channels.